Baking With Julia: Pumpkin Cranberry Walnut Bread

YUM!  I love this bread.  It’s so nice when you put a lot of work in to a recipe and are actually thrilled with the results.

The instructions were long, and it was definitely 24 hours from start to finish, but I think all those little steps (with long breaks in between), are soothing in a way.  The whole process of letting the dough rise three different times (!) reminded me of all the bread baking sessions I took part in with my grandma when I was a little girl.  She did it all by hand – no fancy stand mixer with a dough hook – and her bread is still the best I’ve ever tasted.

I did the three loaves thing.  My pan size was a bit off; 2 inches too long, so they aren’t the prettiest things in the world, but the taste and consistency are perfect in my opinion and that’s all the really matters with bread, right?

Oh, and my dog enjoyed chasing after a stray cranberry that jumped out of the mixing bowl.  Good times for all.  To see the full recipe, check out Rebecca’s post on This Bountiful Backyard.

Categories: Baking | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Baking With Julia: Pumpkin Cranberry Walnut Bread

  1. It’s always nice when the dog is happy too! This was a yummy recipe and your loaves look delicious. We were all happy!

  2. The cranberries were ornery little buggers weren’t they! Your dog is adorable. :)

  3. Pingback: Baking with Julia: Finnish Pulla Bread « Library, PA

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

